What is the EULAR and PRES classification of vasculitis?

Updated: Dec 10, 2018
  • Author: Nadia Jennifer Chiara Luca, MD; Chief Editor: Lawrence K Jung, MD  more...
  • Print

The predominantly large vessel vasculitis is Takayasu arteritis.

Predominantly medium-sized vessel vasculitis includes the following:

  • Childhood polyarteritis nodosa

  • Cutaneous polyarteritis

  • Kawasaki disease

  • Primary vasculitis of the CNS, angiography-positive primary angiitis of the CNS (PACNS)

Predominantly small vessel vasculitis is divided into granulomatous and nongranulomatous. Granulomatous includes the following:

  • Granulomatosis with polyangiitis (formerly known as Wegener granulomatosis)

  • Churg-Strauss syndrome

Nongranulomatous includes the following:

  • Microscopic polyangiitis

  • Henoch-Schönlein purpura

  • Isolated cutaneous leukocytoclastic vasculitis

  • Hypocomplementemic urticarial vasculitis

  • Primary vasculitis of the CNS, angiography-negative, small vessel PACNS

Other vasculitides includes the following:

  • Behçet disease

  • Antiglomerular basement membrane (GBM) antibody disease

  • Vasculitis secondary to infection (including hepatitis B associated polyarteritis nodosa), malignancies, and drugs, including hypersensitivity vasculitis

  • Vasculitis associated with connective tissue diseases

  • Cogan syndrome

  • Unclassified

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!